PDA

View Full Version : Need your help...installer issues


OneSize
06-10-2007, 07:44 PM
I have looked and cant find a solution to my problem so hope one of you guys can help.

For some reason, java has gone from my computer so i tried to install it again...only to have an error saying windows installer cannot be accessed. i cant install anything msi packed. I cant even put a angry face here cos the code will not work.

please help me :'(

hoopsmccan
06-10-2007, 07:52 PM
here you go...

:grrr:

hoopsmccan
06-10-2007, 07:53 PM
Don't know the answer, but when a mod puts it in CAG forum, many answers will be forthcoming.

OneSize
06-10-2007, 07:54 PM
Yeah, i thought the other forum was all about computer games...sorry

hoopsmccan
06-10-2007, 07:57 PM
No problem, but everyone here is either mad or drunk.

You need the "Geeks".

Goldberg Basher
06-10-2007, 08:08 PM
Expect a reply on a sober Sunday morning...

xmasape
06-10-2007, 08:12 PM
I'm mad!

Goldberg Basher
06-10-2007, 08:15 PM
Just turned?

Travelcard
06-10-2007, 08:29 PM
You probably could do with the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301)

hoopsmccan
06-10-2007, 08:49 PM
Originally posted by xmasape
I'm mad!

Yes.

OneSize
06-10-2007, 08:56 PM
Originally posted by Travelcard
You probably could do with the Windows Installer CleanUp Utility (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301)
Wont load, VBScript error.

edit - ok, fixed the VBScript error, but you need windows installer to install that programme.

Travelcard
06-10-2007, 09:11 PM
Really? Ok, I can't imagine that you don't have Windows installer, but see if you can download the latest one here:

Windows Installer 3.1 v2 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/893803)

OneSize
06-10-2007, 09:17 PM
Originally posted by Travelcard
Really? Ok, I can't imagine that you don't have Windows installer, but see if you can download the latest one here:

Windows Installer 3.1 v2 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/893803)
How do you download this? i click on download the links, only for it to go to a list...with no links?!?!?!

Travelcard
06-10-2007, 09:19 PM
:D

You'll probably need the bit in the middle of the page that has this text (unless you have 64bit XP)


For other versions of Windows
The following file is available for download from the Microsoft Download Center:
DownloadDownload the 893803 (v2) package now.

OneSize
06-10-2007, 09:23 PM
Yeah i clicked on that, then the next page it says download the files then there is just a list, no links.

anyway, i searched at got it from somewhere else...now it says an error... not enough storage to process

one problem after the other

Travelcard
06-10-2007, 09:32 PM
On the next page you need the file:

WindowsInstaller-KB893803-v2-x86.exe

On the right of that there is a "Download" button.

I guess that you do have enough storage? Anyway, if there is enough storage, but you get that error message it'll mean that you don't have permission to install to those locations.

So, are you logged in as an administrator? If so, you have big problems (which you already have guessed) Someone/something may have altered the default permissions on your whole C: drive or the "program files" folder or similar. It could also be that your Hard Drive is failing (backup what you can soon). But more likely that your Windows OS is corrupt somehow and will probably need a repair.

Kevin T
06-10-2007, 09:33 PM
>Start
>Run
>Command
>format c:

That should get rid of all your error messages

OneSize
06-10-2007, 09:33 PM
damn vista is rubbish :@

OneSize
06-10-2007, 09:33 PM
Originally posted by Kevin T
>Start
>Run
>Command
>format c:

That should get rid of all your error messages
and everything else

Kevin T
06-10-2007, 09:33 PM
I better put a ;) just in case....

Kevin T
06-10-2007, 09:34 PM
You haven't run out of disk space have you?

OneSize
06-10-2007, 09:35 PM
nope, 10gig free

Micky Droy
06-10-2007, 09:37 PM
Originally posted by Kevin T
>Start
>Run
>Command
>format c:

That should get rid of all your error messages

Is that a geek joke?

DO YOUR JOB HARVESTER DAD AND MOVE THE DAMN THREAD TO THE BACKWATERS OF ROM SLASH DOT HELL.

Or not.

- See if your windows installer is really dead by downloading any other thing from the interweb (like Last FM, which is excellent)

- If it is, try DL-ing the latest XP update again.

- \If still borked, try a roll back

- Or just see if you can DL and install an older version of Java - 1.5 works fine

Kevin T
06-10-2007, 09:40 PM
Harvester was good. I had ribs.

Travelcard
06-10-2007, 09:43 PM
What Operating System do you have?

OneSize
06-10-2007, 09:49 PM
vista premium

OneSize
06-10-2007, 10:13 PM
Originally posted by Micky Droy
Is that a geek joke?

DO YOUR JOB HARVESTER DAD AND MOVE THE DAMN THREAD TO THE BACKWATERS OF ROM SLASH DOT HELL.

Or not.

- See if your windows installer is really dead by downloading any other thing from the interweb (like Last FM, which is excellent)

- If it is, try DL-ing the latest XP update again.

- \If still borked, try a roll back

- Or just see if you can DL and install an older version of Java - 1.5 works fine
Tried all that and still nothing. Getting annoying, cannot install flash, vb code dont work which means youtbe etc is unuseable

Travelcard
06-10-2007, 10:27 PM
Are you logged on as administrator?

OneSize
07-10-2007, 08:40 AM
yes

kitticat
07-10-2007, 08:43 AM
Originally posted by hoopsmccan
No problem, but everyone here is either mad or drunk.

You need the "Geeks".


Hey, we are not geeks :grrr: :grrr: :angel:

hoopsmccan
07-10-2007, 12:14 PM
Originally posted by kitticat
Hey, we are not geeks :grrr: :grrr: :angel:

:D

OneSize
07-10-2007, 04:53 PM
ok, done a bit more exploring and have now found that i cant find msiexec.exe file which is refered to in the registry. where can i download this file from?

raquel
07-10-2007, 05:16 PM
if you can't find the msiexec.exe then its probablynot running as its a service.

go start run and type 'services.msc' without the quotes then find the windows installer service and check its set to either manual or automatic and not disabled.

also take a look here: http://www.support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;555175&SD=tech

OneSize
07-10-2007, 05:26 PM
i done your suggestion, it was ticked and i set it to automatic from manual but still nothing.

The only thing i have not tried ont that link in method 2, but when you click on it, where are the links it refers to!?!?!

raquel
07-10-2007, 05:34 PM
links to here:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=889482fc-5f56-4a38-b838-de776fd4138c&DisplayLang=en#filelist

the file you want is the last in the list. if you click download and nothing happens hold down control and click it again

OneSize
07-10-2007, 05:40 PM
I have tried that, and it came up with an error saying not enough storage. I know the problem is that msiexec.exe is missing from system32 folder, just dunno where to download that file from

sometro
07-10-2007, 05:55 PM
that installer file is about 2.5mb you sure your hdd's aren't full.....? clear up your temp files etc just to be sure

i've uploaded the installer here: www.pkl.org.uk/WindowsInstaller-KB893803-v2-x86.exe

just save it to disk and run it or run it from there when the download box comes up.

OneSize
07-10-2007, 05:58 PM
i save it to disk ,run it and it says not enough storage error.

there is more than enough space and i have cleard temp files :(

sometro
07-10-2007, 05:58 PM
i've uploaded the actualy misexec.exe to here in case you need it:

www.pkl.org.uk/msiexec.zip

unzip it. it should be in windows\system32

hth

OneSize
07-10-2007, 05:59 PM
i found that as well and put it in folder...still doesnt work

sometro
07-10-2007, 06:04 PM
Originally posted by OneSize
i save it to disk ,run it and it says not enough storage error.

there is more than enough space and i have cleard temp files :(

have a wander though computer management and check your hdd's are all there, that they are the correct size and how much free space it says is on each.

its vista premium right?

vista uses v4 of the installer which isn't available for download so looks like you may have to do an in place repair instead.

have you tried a full virus scan? or tried running 'sfc /scannow' without the quotes from start-> run or the cmd prompt and then reboot and see if that helps

if all else fails find a very big hammer and hit the pc until you feel better..........:(

OneSize
08-10-2007, 10:41 PM
where is that hammer. i wouldnt mind but javascript isnt working and that effects loads of sites