PDA

View Full Version : Why is my CPU usae 100%?

Mal Adjusted
14-12-2007, 09:06 AM
I hit CNRT-ALT-DEL to bring up the Windows Task Manaare performance charts. It shows I have one application running (the BBS on Internet Explkorer). I have a couple of dozen processes running - with Mem Usgae ranging from 28k to 50,000k. Most of these are .exe files.

On the performance charts my 'PF usage' is 590mb, with the green bar showing about half. But my 'CPU usage' is showing 100%.

I've done all the normal things like virus checks and registry repair checks, defrags, etc etc. When I switch off and switch on the CPU usage is often as low as 4%, but then it jumps up and quickly gets to 100%. I assume this is why the PC is running like a donkey.

I've looked back on past threads and tried cure such as strating msconfig and altering the start up options but that gives me a warning message that I should not be doing that unless I'm an expert. Which I'm not.

Any advice in language appropriate for a computer ignoramus would be appreciated

Thanks in advance

Edit to the above. I forot to say that the process taking up 50,000k is MsMpEng, which is a Windows Defender task that seems to cause problems as I can see lots of people on Google complaining that it takes up the whole of their CPU. Is 50,000k usgage on this likely to cause my problem?

Newts G
14-12-2007, 10:53 AM
I had a similar problem a few weeks ago, mine was a print spooler problem. I deleted the file and hey presto all sorted.

Norm
14-12-2007, 11:00 AM
You need to click on the processes tab then click on CPU to bring the highest to the top and it should then show you what is taking up the CPU time. I bet it is SVCHOST.exe

delboy01
14-12-2007, 11:07 AM
System idle should be top!!

If it's a task search on the web for fixes.

Mal Adjusted
14-12-2007, 05:06 PM
Originally posted by Norm