PDA

View Full Version : wireless networking problems


saul1664
24-02-2008, 06:57 PM
From being able to connect this morning and since using a netgear modem, my laptop now will not connect, saying the network is security enabled and asks for a network key (WPA). Have no idea what to input for key and can't connect wirelessly. Anyone have a clue what is going on?

Dave
24-02-2008, 07:02 PM
look on the bottom of the router for a key

saul1664
24-02-2008, 07:07 PM
have a serial number and a MAC. Is it any of these?

saul1664
24-02-2008, 07:27 PM
Don't know whether this makes any difference but up until now it was showing our wireless network as non secured (presumably meaning that there WAS no network key). But I find it incredibly odd that it should be working fine, then we go out of the house for an hour and when we return it now reads as SECURED and requires a network code which we have never had (as far as I'm aware).

Couldn't be the case that someone has used our wireless network connection (as it was not secure) and then created a key for it? Could be just me talking rubbish but is this possible? Any help gratefuly received......

James
24-02-2008, 07:33 PM
Originally posted by saul1664
Don't know whether this makes any difference but up until now it was showing our wireless network as non secured (presumably meaning that there WAS no network key). But I find it incredibly odd that it should be working fine, then we go out of the house for an hour and when we return it now reads as SECURED and requires a network code which we have never had (as far as I'm aware).
Any help gratefuly received...... Are you sure that you are connecting to your own home network? Your laptop may be trying to connect to a strong wireless network set up by a neighbour.

If you haven't got a secured network then you really should ensure that it is secured. You can get into all sorts of trouble if you leave your wireless network unsecured. Apart from someone hacking in and stealing your data - you may have criminals downloading compromising stuff using your account (e.g. child porn or terrorist material). Set up a secured system as soon as you can. If you need to know how, tell us what wireless router you are using.

As Dave says, the default key is usually printed on the router. It's usually a 10 digit hexadecimal number (but it need not be - it may be more than this and it may be just decimal numbers).

Originally posted by saul1664


Couldn't be the case that someone has used our wireless network connection (as it was not secure) and then created a key for it? Could be just me talking rubbish but is this possible? Any help gratefuly received...... That is possible, but unlikely. A hacker wouldn't want to draw your attention to the fact that your network has been compromised.

If that has happened, you can 'reset' most wireless routers by pushing a pin into a small 'reset' hole somewhere on the device.

gaborgabor
24-02-2008, 07:38 PM
if it is ntl/virgin we have been having problems with it! they just blame router and make you get another one! even though we had thew on they suggested!!

saul1664
24-02-2008, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by James
Are you sure that you are connecting to your own home network? Your laptop may be trying to connect to a strong wireless network set up by a neighbour.

Yes I'm sure. When you open the wireless networking area it usually shows 4 wireless networks. 3 of them were secured - ours was not. It was something I meant to get sorted but hadn't got around to it yet. It is definately OUR home network that we are trying to get access to. I just can't see any reason why it would have been unsecured this morning, and an hour later secured (and locking us out!)


On the bottom of our router we've got a serial number, a MAC number, and in tiny letters (which looks like a general sticker and not one specific to our router) there is an FCC code, and another code above that which says US. I've tried the FCC code and nothing happens.

saul1664
24-02-2008, 07:51 PM
Usually can get into the netgear router site through http://192..etc., this isn't recognised anymore, so if I reset the router, I can't get into the site to reset the password. This also doesn't work on the desktop either, so could be worse off with no internet access.

saul1664
24-02-2008, 07:57 PM
Originally posted by saul1664
Usually can get into the netgear router site through http://192..etc., this isn't recognised anymore, so if I reset the router, I can't get into the site to reset the password. This also doesn't work on the desktop either, so could be worse off with no internet access.

Sorted. Have found network key through getting into the router on desktop, although was an unsecured network before I went out for an hour and since I had the laptop, to a secured one when I got back. Fairly strange.

swanleyeagle86
24-02-2008, 08:24 PM
change the username an password for the admin panel. and also change the network key. just incase it was set by someone else!

Son of Selhurst
24-02-2008, 08:24 PM
Your router set an encryption key without your intervention? VERY strange.