PDA

View Full Version : Players To Be Sold / Released Next Year ?

Gazza2
26-09-2002, 05:31 PM
With the club currently losing an estimated 50k per week (which is figure quoted by Simon Jordan) and cost cutting measures unlikely to save anything like that, there is only 1 possible option open to the club management to make good the losses - sell players!
We only really have 2 players who will be bring in sizeabel fees - Mullins & Routledge.

Charlton and Villa have been trailing Mullins for a while now and the club reportedly turned down a couple of 1m offers for Wayne in the Summer. Expect at least 1 of the 2, if not both, to leave in January when the transfer windown reopens. Palace cannot sustain losses of 50k per week; Transfer will be made, rest of our squad will not command big fees in the current market.

Bound to get a few Smart Alec replies from the "Head in the Sand" merchants to this, but I've been attending games since 1973 and apart from Administration cannot remember a tougher time 4 our club. At least when we went down to the old 3rd Division we were fairly solvent; even if the fans had to volunteer to paint the ground in the summer as the club was skint.

The Omen
26-09-2002, 05:34 PM
:rolleyes: is all I can be bothered to reply with. :rolleyes:

Gazza2
26-09-2002, 05:39 PM
I know it is an obvious conclusions to be made from our current financial posistion. Remember Gillingham having a similar prospect (James Corbett), also a young winger. Played about 12 1st team games b4 Blackburn snapped him up for a couple of million. When clubs were only allowed one sub, the top sides had smaller squads than today = promosing young players would stay with their starter club for 2 or 3 years in the 1st team, nowadays they r snapped up pretty damn quick. Just wanted to make sure that people were not under the illusison that we would be watching Wayne in a Palace shirt 4 seasons 2 come.

Cleon
26-09-2002, 05:39 PM
One :rolleyes: is all I can be bothered with.