CPFC BBS

CPFC BBS (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/index.php)
-   World of Sport (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Anyone play cricket? (https://www.cpfc.org/forums/showthread.php?t=172285)

Billy Rhino 04-07-2008 06:38 PM

Anyone play cricket?

I know there's an enormous cricket thread but it appears to be all about watching rather than playing so thought I'd start this up.

I played my first proper game since school (over 20 years ago) about 3 weeks ago for my company team, Temple Bar. I honestly thought it would be a doddle as I was pretty good at school, and yet I somehow managed to get bowled first ball............by a 17 year old GIRL!

Anyway, despite that I've started to buy all the gear like whites, bat, pads, gloves etc and am really enjoying it, even if I am a virtual novice. My batting average is already up to 2.5 (I've only played once more since, you do the maths!).

Do we have any regular cricketers on here and if so what team and how's your season going? We're joint top of the Morrant Wey Valley League at the moment.

Maybe if your team is short or you fancy a game then you could use this thread for recruitment?

stinky 04-07-2008 06:51 PM

good thread! I used to play at school, but haven't played at all since then. I'm 26 now. Always wanted to get back into it again but never have. Always fancied playing for a real low quality little pub/village team. Reckon I could still send down a few decent medium/fast ones!

glenn.f 04-07-2008 06:56 PM

Play regular league stuff here in Norfolk every Saturday and numerous mid-week 20 over comps. Was always a bowler for Old Catton seconds until last season when everything clicked with the bat. Unfortunately now have been turned into the first team all-rounder which has taken a bit of time to live up to last years' standard, not helped by a clash of personalities with a former Barnes CC player who is now our club captain.