Home | Forums | Gallery | Twitter
 
CPFC BBS  

Go Back   CPFC BBS » Off Topic » Computers, Gaming and Mobile Forum

Notices

Computers, Gaming and Mobile Forum All things computer, internet, mobile, tablet and video game related.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-08-2020, 02:18 AM
Hedgehog's Avatar
Hedgehog Hedgehog is offline
The Spiky One
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Valencia, California, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 61,890
Rep Power: 21474855
Hedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is here
Scanning from an Epson All-in-One

I got a new Epson printer today. Basically the same as the one I had previously.

Old one developed an issue that certainly wasn't insurmountable, where it would not scan from the control panel on the unit, but scanned when driven by the computer app.

New printer is doing the same thing, but this one gives a bit more feedback, and says no computer is recognized, which is not true, as all other feature work just fine. One hint is it is a security or firewall issue. Both the trouble shoot and Google searches lead to this conclusion.

Trouble is everything I look at in the firewall settings would indicate the printer is OK and allowed.

Again, no real big deal, as there are other ways to scan, but more an annoyance or curiosity.

Anyone else have an Epson printer and had this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2020, 06:14 PM
Hedgehog's Avatar
Hedgehog Hedgehog is offline
The Spiky One
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Valencia, California, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 61,890
Rep Power: 21474855
Hedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is here
Bump... Just in case it slipped under the radar!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2020, 06:25 PM
chrisophiex's Avatar
chrisophiex chrisophiex is offline
Selhurst Heaven
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8,730
Rep Power: 21474847
chrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is here
I’d go with a usb cable....never go wrong with a cable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2020, 06:31 PM
Hedgehog's Avatar
Hedgehog Hedgehog is offline
The Spiky One
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Valencia, California, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 61,890
Rep Power: 21474855
Hedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is here
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisophiex View Post
I’d go with a usb cable....never go wrong with a cable.
Probably right... seems a bit defeatist though!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2020, 07:07 PM
Jonboy's Avatar
Jonboy Jonboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Vancouver
Age: 62
Posts: 4,032
Rep Power: 21474857
Jonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is hereJonboy Sam the man is here
I had a similar issue with Brother multi function. Solved by downloading up to date drivers from Brother's website.
__________________
pɐǝɥ ʎɯ oʇ ƃuıɥsnɹ sı poolq ǝɥʇ puɐ uʍop ǝpısdn ǝq oʇ ɯǝǝs ı 'dlǝɥ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2020, 07:42 PM
Hedgehog's Avatar
Hedgehog Hedgehog is offline
The Spiky One
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Valencia, California, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 61,890
Rep Power: 21474855
Hedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonboy View Post
I had a similar issue with Brother multi function. Solved by downloading up to date drivers from Brother's website.
Thanks. I should have the latest as I only downloaded yesterday, but I'll double check.

I've read about people with HP printers having the same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2020, 09:15 PM
chrisophiex's Avatar
chrisophiex chrisophiex is offline
Selhurst Heaven
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8,730
Rep Power: 21474847
chrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedgehog View Post
Probably right... seems a bit defeatist though!

Ok....something you may want to check is that modern routers broadcast two “lanes” of WiFi...2.4 and 5ghz. Sometimes your laptop or phone may be connected to the 2.4 channel and your new printer may be connected to the 5ghz lane. It’s a long shot but perhaps why they don’t see each other.

In my experience, Epson printers are a pain in the arse regarding scanning, hence why a cable will always work.

Does the printer appear in your printer list on your pc/Mac ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2020, 10:36 PM
Hedgehog's Avatar
Hedgehog Hedgehog is offline
The Spiky One
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Valencia, California, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 61,890
Rep Power: 21474855
Hedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is here
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisophiex View Post
Ok....something you may want to check is that modern routers broadcast two “lanes” of WiFi...2.4 and 5ghz. Sometimes your laptop or phone may be connected to the 2.4 channel and your new printer may be connected to the 5ghz lane. It’s a long shot but perhaps why they don’t see each other.

In my experience, Epson printers are a pain in the arse regarding scanning, hence why a cable will always work.

Does the printer appear in your printer list on your pc/Mac ?
I think you might be on to something.

I'm tempted to uninstall all the Epson software, and reinstall from the Epson website. I used the disk that came with the printer, and that seemed to lead to the online updates, but I'm not convinced it went as smooth as it should have.

There appears to be 2 Epson printers in the printer list (both XP-7100), but one is called Network01 and the other by the S/N.

Seems over complicated, as they seemed to treat the printer and the scanner as two separate entities.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2020, 03:01 PM
Hedgehog's Avatar
Hedgehog Hedgehog is offline
The Spiky One
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Valencia, California, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 61,890
Rep Power: 21474855
Hedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is here
It has to be a firewall/security issue, but damned if I can figure it out.

Turned stuff off and changed a lot of settings yesterday to no avail.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2020, 03:17 PM
chrisophiex's Avatar
chrisophiex chrisophiex is offline
Selhurst Heaven
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8,730
Rep Power: 21474847
chrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is here
Are you installing the software via their disc ?

I would uninstall everything to do with Epson printers and then restart your pc. Make sure there are no Epson printers in your printer list, and no Epson Software in your programs list.

Make sure the Epson is connected to the WiFi and then run the disc. DO NOT let the disc guide you to installing the latest drivers from the web, just use the drivers from the setup disc.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-08-2020, 03:18 PM
chrisophiex's Avatar
chrisophiex chrisophiex is offline
Selhurst Heaven
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8,730
Rep Power: 21474847
chrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is herechrisophiex Sam the man is here
Or use a cable
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2020, 03:36 PM
little al's Avatar
little al little al is offline
XXVII
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Aberdeen
Age: 51
Posts: 44,602
Rep Power: 21474858
little al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is herelittle al Sam the man is here
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisophiex View Post
Or use a cable
__________________
ACAE
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2020, 03:50 PM
Hedgehog's Avatar
Hedgehog Hedgehog is offline
The Spiky One
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Valencia, California, USA
Age: 64
Posts: 61,890
Rep Power: 21474855
Hedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is hereHedgehog Sam the man is here
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisophiex View Post
Are you installing the software via their disc ?

I would uninstall everything to do with Epson printers and then restart your pc. Make sure there are no Epson printers in your printer list, and no Epson Software in your programs list.

Make sure the Epson is connected to the WiFi and then run the disc. DO NOT let the disc guide you to installing the latest drivers from the web, just use the drivers from the setup disc.
Thanks for all your advice on here Chris. Appreciate the effort.

I might give this a go later in the week... or I could just carry on like I have for the last few years and scan from the PC App.

As I said before, its an annoyance/curiosity more than a obstacle.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.